Book Review: Three Brothers by Nicole Williams @nwilliamsbooksThree Brothers by Nicole Williams
on January 20, 2015
Genres: New Adult, Romance
Buy on Amazon|B&N|Kobo
Add to Goodreads

I grew up with three brothers. They weren’t tied to me by blood, but our connection went beyond genetics or bearing the same last name. Our connection was forged the summer I turned thirteen, the summer my mom ended her life and left me in the custody of John Armstrong, a man I’d never met. Packing all I owned in a couple of boxes, I left the familiarity of the big city and headed west to Red Mountain Ranch, set in a lonely valley outside of Jackson Hole.

Nothing was as it seemed at Red Mountain—it didn’t take long for me to figure that out. John was kind to me but distant, as if he was afraid to let anyone get too close. His three teenage sons had their own devices for keeping love as far away as they could. The eldest distracted himself with cheap relationships that had a shelf-life of one night. The middle son threw himself into the rigor of running a ranch, and the third wielded cruelty and mind-games in his quest to keep people from getting close.

Time has gone by, and I’ve spent those years trying to forget the brother I’d fallen for—the biggest mistake of my life.

Finally, I’ve moved on. Finally, I’m back. But what I didn’t realize was that running away from the wrong brother meant I’d also run away from the right one. The one who’d been there for me all along, waiting in his brother’s shadow for the day I either would or could move on.

But a decade is a long time to wait. Has the brother I should have chosen all of those years ago moved on too? Am I about to discover that my biggest mistake wasn’t falling in love with the wrong brother, but failing to return the love of the right one sooner?

Does unrequited love have an expiration date?

I’m about to find out.

Author’s Note: This book is a "sweet" romance that isn't overly sexy. Fans of LOST & FOUND will be interested in THREE BROTHERS.


review

I’ve said it before in my Nicole Williams reviews but I’ll say it again — there are books and there are Nicole Williams books for me. I don’t know what energy of the universe she harnesses to write these amazingly perfect books that make you feel like you’ve never felt these feelings before but at the same time they resonate so, so deeply. I don’t know but, like always with her novels, I’m completely rendered speechless after reading it and it just keeps seething in my mind long after I finish.

The story is told in Scout’s POV. After her mom died, she was forced to give up city life and spend it living in the ranch with her closest relatives, John Armstrong and his three sons, Chase, Chance and Con. Scout fell in love with one of them and later found her heart broken. In her attempt to steer clear of him, she left Red Mountain to pick up the broken pieces. But what she didn’t realize was that running away from the wrong brother meant running away from the right one, too. One who had been there for her all along.

Scout has no intentions of returning to the ranch. But the moment she received a call from one of the brothers saying that John is dying, she immediately packed her bags and went back to see him for one last time. But this also means that she has to face the past that she tried to escape from 7 years ago.

The characters in this book are not always someone you like and you are going to cringe often because of the intricate decisions and actions they made, but it was such a raw portrait of how we as humans deal with the mistakes we’ve made in life. It’s messy and complicated and imperfect and I FREAKING LOVED EVERY MOMENT OF IT.

Three Brothers is yet another masterpiece of Nicole. A beautiful and gut-wrenching story of loss, the enduring bonds of family and friendship amidst tragedy and the kind of healing that can only come with the help of the ones we love. The concept was totally original. It was complex, beautifully written, gripping and thought provoking.

This book really exceeded my expectations. I was drawn in by the plot and it absolutely delivered on everything that could have gone with that. Everything was just impeccable— Scout’s voice, the romance, the family dynamics and just the overall feeling I got from reading it.

If you’re the type of reader who doesn’t mind characters who make big mistakes and are super unlikeable at times, a reader who likes messy and complicated relationships, the type of reader who likes smart & thought-provoking stories, Three Brothers could be the perfect fit for you.

 cris

Three Brothers_fingerprints

About Nicole Williams

I’m the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of the CRASH series (HarperTeen, S&S UK), LOST & FOUND series, UP IN FLAMES (S&S UK), The EDEN TRILOGY, and a handful of others. I write stories about everyday kinds of people who find themselves in extraordinary kinds of situations. I tell love stories with happy endings because I believe in making the world a better place, and that’s one tiny way I can make it so. I’m one of those people who still believe in true love and soul mates, and would rather keep my head in the clouds any day over having my feet firmly on the ground.

About Nicole Williams

I’m the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of the CRASH series (HarperTeen, S&S UK), LOST & FOUND series, UP IN FLAMES (S&S UK), The EDEN TRILOGY, and a handful of others. I write stories about everyday kinds of people who find themselves in extraordinary kinds of situations. I tell love stories with happy endings because I believe in making the world a better place, and that’s one tiny way I can make it so. I’m one of those people who still believe in true love and soul mates, and would rather keep my head in the clouds any day over having my feet firmly on the ground.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *