Review: The Last Wife by Nicola Marsh @NicolaMarsh

Review: The Last Wife by Nicola Marsh @NicolaMarshThe Last Wife on October 11, 2019
Buy on Amazon|B&N|Kobo
Add to Goodreads

‘This was SOME read. Now I know what it means when people say a book was unputdownable. I just had to finish this in one sitting. It was just too good to wait until the next day… You will NOT want to miss this... Ten stars definitely!’ Netgalley reviewer, 5 stars

Trusting his family was her first mistake.

All Ria ever wanted was a family. Growing up alone in foster care, she imagined just how it would be. So when she fell in love with Grayson and had their daughter Shelley, she was determined to make his family love her too. She knew she’d never fit in with her glamorous sisters-in-law, or at the exclusive picture-perfect Chicago parties her mother-in-law threw, but with Grayson’s arm around her waist she tried her best to be a Parker.

Everything changed when Grayson disappeared.

Until one morning, Grayson leaves the house for work and never comes home. Left to raise Shelley alone, Ria is forced to turn to her husband’s family, to let her intimidating mother-in-law into her life, allow her to babysit Shelley, and accept her financial support. She tries to ignore the feeling that her sisters-in-law never thought she was good enough. They say they have no idea what happened to Grayson, and she tries very hard to believe them.

But Ria is about to learn that every Parker wife has secrets.

And protecting her daughter might come at a terrible price…

Utterly compelling, The Last Wife is an emotionally-charged novel about what one woman will do to survive. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Kerry Fisher and The Other Woman.


The Last Wife was my first book by Nicola Marsh but it will not be my last. I enjoyed the author’s fast paced writing style. The Last Wife is packed full of secrets, lies, and a family fraught with complicated relationships.

This story has many plot twists, some I guessed right away while others had me in the dark. The author did a commendable job creating tension and developing flawed characters while still allowing them to be understood and in most cases likeable. Ria was by far my favorite.

If you like fast paced suspense and drama you will enjoy The Last Wife.

As an aside, I will say having read the story I don’t find the cover relates at all.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

USA TODAY bestselling author and multi-award winner Nicola Marsh writes feel-good fiction…with a twist.

She has published 70 contemporary novels with Harlequin, Amazon and indie, and sold over 8 million copies worldwide. Her first mainstream romance BUSTED IN BOLLYWOOD was nominated for Romantic Book of the Year.

She currently writes rural romance for Harper Collins Australia, emotional, twisty, women’s fiction for Bookouture and contemporary romance for Penguin Random House Berkley and Harlequin’s Dare series.

She has also written spooky novels for teens. BANISH, a supernatural thriller that released with Harlequin Teen Australia, and a YA urban fantasy SCION OF THE SUN that won a National Readers’ Choice Award for Best Young Adult novel.

She’s also a Waldenbooks, Bookscan and Barnes & Noble bestseller, a RBY (Romantic Book of the Year) and National Readers’ Choice Award winner, and a multi-finalist for a number of awards including the Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award, HOLT Medallion, Booksellers’ Best, Golden Quill, Laurel Wreath, More than Magic and has also won several CataRomance Reviewers’ Choice Awards.

A physiotherapist for thirteen years, she now adores writing full time, raising her two dashing heroes, sharing fine food with family and friends, and her favourite, curling up with a good book!

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.