Book Review: Honesty by Seth King @SethKingBooksHonesty by Seth King
on March 1, 2016
Genres: M/M
Buy on Amazon|B&N|Kobo
Add to Goodreads

A radiant story of first love and self-acceptance for fans of John Green, Jandy Nelson, and Rainbow Rowell

“Maybe we weren’t meant to collide. Maybe we were meant to explode.”

As a closeted teenager in the Deep South with a holy-roller father and the scars to prove it, bookworm Cole Furman has resigned himself to experiencing life and love only within the pages of his favorite novels. But after Nick Flores seems to walk off a page and starts to rewrite his story, Cole finds his dreams spinning into a dazzling – and complicated – reality.

If you have ever found yourself on the wild breathless thriller ride that is first love, Honesty will rip you back again in screaming color.

review

“After I watched Brokeback Mountain with my friend Katherine one time, she’d remarked that it “felt like a straight romance movie!” and I could remember wanting to shank her. The movie featured two humans falling in love-what else was it supposed to feel like?” ~Cole

Sadly, this book is not a romantic comedy. It isn’t full of stolen kisses, walks on the beach hand and hand, and it’s not hearts and flowers. I loved Cole’s spunk. This book is a lot of inner monologue. It was like sitting on the phone with Seth while he told me his story.

“Every day I don’t talk to you, I feel like I’m not me.” ~Nick

“Thank you for letting me hangout with you again, by the way. I know I’m not much. But with you, I’m…more.” ~Nick

How? How can a parent force their child to hide who they are? How can a society dictate who we love? This book follows two men who know what they want, but because of society and their upbringing, they are forced to hide, and in turn forced to lead miserable lives, until they find each other. This book touched me on a very personal level. My son was twelve when he came out. I want to give him the world. I’ve always taught him that the world his to own, he just has to work for it. He started reading this with me, but I made him stop as I neared the end. As a mother, I’m still protective, and my heart was shredded, so I knew his would be too. The struggle that these two had was painful to read. Love shouldn’t be that hard, yet for them, it was.  The ending of this book was both heart wrenching and beautiful. I truly loved this book.

“I don’t see any other options. We tried. We gave it a shot. A good one.” ~Nick

“Love is an option.” Cole whispered.

See what I mean, I spent a lot of this book in tears, some parts I full on cried. Three words I won’t forget, “Just Keep Swimming.” And that he did.

jen


About Seth King

Seth King is a twenty-six-year-old American author. He enjoys reading, writing, traveling, and spending time with his family.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.